2015 – A Year in Review

It has come to that time to look back on the previous year and reflect on all of the various events that have transpired.  2015 was certainly a busy year for Jackie Evancho.  The first big memory of the year for me started early in February when I attended Jackie’s concert at Pittsburgh’s Heinz Hall.  I wrote about this experience in the following blog post.

Jackie Gives Her All at Heinz Hall

20150213_210052[1]

Although I did not create any other blog posts this year other than the one mentioned above and this summary post, there are still many great events that occurred for Jackie Evancho and for her fans to reflect upon.

Below is a summary of some of the the 2015 highlights in addition to the approximately 40 concerts and appearances shown on the map below:

 

Highlights

Jackie performed overseas in Thailand and Malaysia to take part in David Foster and Friends shows.  In Thailand, Jackie had her first duet with Andrea Bocelli.  Videos of the rehearsal  and performance was captured by Jackie’s father Mike Evancho.

 

In Malaysia, a video was captured of Jackie singing Hey Jude as part of the finale of the show.

 

Jackie would release three music videos this year.  The first video is with Jackie singing a cover of Taylor Swift’s “Blank Space.”  She is accompanied on acoustic guitar by Nick Marzock.

 

The second music video titled “All of the Stars” generated a lot of attention as it focused on Transgender Identity issues and later it would be made known that Jackie’s (then) brother Jacob had made the decision to come out as being Transgender.  From that point forward, Jacob had decided to be identified as Jackie’s older sister Juliet.  Of course this generated some controversy, but it also illustrated the strong bond that exists with Jackie and her older sibling in addition to focusing on acceptance of people who may be different than ourselves.

 

Jackie’s third music video was a brilliant cover of the song “Safe and Sound” from the Hunger Games movie.  Jackie demonstrates that she can sing pop songs just as well as she sings classical music.  The music video is very well done and includes Jackie’s younger sister Rachel playing the part of Primrose.

 

Jackie would travel overseas once again to Italy where she would take part in a major Celebrity Fight Night exclusive fundraiser where she would perform a solo and duet once again with Andrea Bocelli.

 

 

In addition to Celebrity Fight Night, Jackie would be involved in other public charity events this year including this surprise performance for Yolanda Foster at the Global Lyme Alliance Inaugural  Gala.  Jackie also indicated that her mother is also struggling with the disease.

 

Jackie would get an opportunity to sing at the World Meeting of Families in Philadelphia as part of the festivities to welcome Pope Francis.

 

Jackie was invited to sing the National Anthem for her hometown Pittsburgh Steelers on Sunday Night Football.

 

Jackie reached a milestone this year in which it was determined that she had performed in her 100th full-feature concert on December 12th at Grenada Theater.  I decided to use the concert map data that I had accumulated over the years and create a tribute video celebrating Jackie’s first 100 concerts.

 

Jackie ended the year with a series of Christmas concerts that she performed.  In 2014 she was unable to perform during the Christmas season due to struggles with walking pneumonia.  Thankfully she has had a full recovery and was able to sing a series of Christmas concerts this year in 2015.  Here is a fan video from one of those concerts in New Buffalo, MI.

 

In addition to the highlights that I pointed out, one of Jackie’s fans (Martin UK) put together this wonderful video summarizing all of Jackie’s performance activity for this year.

 

And last but not least for all you statisticians out there, here is a page generated by WordPress that contains the generated summary of the activity on this blog over this past year.

Source: See the #fireworks I created by blogging on #WordPressDotCom. My 2015 annual report.

Thanks for reading my blog and I hope that you like the information posted here in support of Jackie Evancho.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alec Ludlow
    Dec 30, 2015 @ 16:14:45

    Thank you Ken for the 2015 review. A great year for us fans. Its hard to believe all she does and still manages to fit in regular schooling. Of course for me 2015 was highlighted by the fact that this was the year I finally got to see Jackie. I shall never forget that very personal and quiet moment I had in late March at the Sarasota concert. I sat in my seat knowing that my four and a half year wait to see her was coming to an end in just a few seconds. The theater was packed, but I was totally alone with my thoughts almost beside myself with anticipation. Jackie emerged from the shadows and not surprisingly the tears flowed almost immediately. I love the girl as much today as I ever did. I’m a fan forever of that wondrous voice of hers.
    I wish her nothing but the best.

    Alec.

    Reply

    • VarnK
      Dec 30, 2015 @ 16:47:19

      I’m so glad that you finally had your Jackie moment after such a long wait. It really amazes me how committed people like yourself are to come all that way to see Jackie perform live.

      Reply

  2. Chuck and Paula Brown
    Dec 31, 2015 @ 01:08:50

    That is an amazing accomplishment for Jackie. Thanks so much, Ken, for putting this together. To see Jackie mature from a 10 year old to a 15 year old is fantastic. She has “aged” beautifully, just as a fine wine ages.

    Reply

  3. Chuck and Paula Brown
    Dec 31, 2015 @ 02:15:44

    As with all of your previous efforts, Ken……the 2015 Year in Review was an absolute pleasure. We can’t thank you enough for sharing all of these wonderful memories.

    Reply

  4. Chuck and Paula Brown
    Dec 31, 2015 @ 02:32:09

    As with your efforts of the past, Ken…….we really enjoyed “2015-A Year in Review”. We can’t thank you enough for capturing these wonderful memories.

    Reply

  5. Jeff
    Dec 31, 2015 @ 17:46:59

    Hello Ken, Jeff here. It’s been a while since I last entered a blog on this very neat site of yours. But if you remember, I mentioned a while ago how frustrated I was that Jackie had never made it to Denver, CO., but you assured me that she had been here in the past and that she may be back in the future. Well Ken, true to the art of being right, she did come to Denver again. It was this last December 15, 2015. I purchased my very first Jackie Evancho concert ticket, it was at the Boettcher Concert Hall in downtown Denver. It was snowing and there was already quite a lot of snow on the ground. I live in Greeley, CO. which is already a good hour away from Denver as it is. So when the time came I put my truck into 4 wheel drive-high and drove to Denver – to the Boettcher Concert Hall – at 45 miles an hour all the way there with no mishaps. Though it took me forever to get there it seemed, it was well worth it Ken as you already knew it would be. I have watched countless YouTube clips of Jackie watching her come out on stage at her many various concerts literally around the world. But to be able to watch her come out live onto the stage at Boettcher Concert Hall was so exceedingly serial to me Ken, I don’t even have the words to describe it. When she came out the first thing she said to us all was how thankful she was that we all had safely traversed the snow to get there to see her perform. She is always so kind and thoughtful like that, isn’t she Ken. From the very beginning of the concert, she kept looking up at me and smiling; I had guessed because the row that I was sitting in was a relatively short row and it was right above where the sound mixer man was sitting and I was the only one in that whole row. It must have been a queer site for her, to see from the stage, only one person sitting in an otherwise empty row. Lol . The snow and bad weather had kept several people away that night as they couldn’t make it to the concert. But the seat I was in was perfect to me, as in any other seat, I might not have had the luxury of having as much eye contact with Jackie as I had that night. It was so much fun for me, I can’t even tell you!!! So in watching her many YouTube clips I had learned that Jackie was working on her voice, to be able hit an extremely high octave that less than a hand full of professional opera soprano singers can hit. Well to our elated surprise, in one of Jackie’s songs she was singing to us we were waiting to here the last very high note of this song. But when it came time to sing out that last high note, with keeping in perfect time, she took a quick deep breath and with perfect pitch belted out this high note, about 3 octaves higher than it is normally sung it seemed. She had done it, she hit that note she ‘d been working on that very few people in the world can even come close to. We all jumped to our feet in complete adulation and excited surprise. The applause was deafening, and Jackie Evancho, with her ear to ear smile on her face just simply giggled with delight. 🙂 Thanks Ken, Jeff.

    Reply

  6. Catherine Novak
    Jan 01, 2016 @ 09:34:38

    What a happy and joyful ride we are on, following our beloved Angel of Music. You put to words so beautifully what we are all feeling for her. Jackie is so blessed with the talents God has given her, and we are so blessed on the receiving end. 2016 will be fabulous as we continue the journey with this beautiful and delightful young woman. Thank you for keeping us attuned to everything concerning Jackie, and many blessings to you in this new year, too.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Follow me @JEAdmirer on Twitter

Recent Blog Comments

Anonymous on About
Anonymous on About
VarnK on About
RAMON TUCKER on About
Leo Wheeler on 2014 – A Year in Re…