Why do I admire Jackie Evancho?

I am not sure why I am compelled to write a blog entry on this topic, but I have a deep desire to do so based on inspiration that I have found in an 11-year-old girl named Jackie Evancho.  So here goes my first blog attempt.

It has been over a year since America was introduced to Jackie Evancho on the TV show called America’s Got Talent in 2010. At the time she started competing/performing on the show, it was clear that she was a very gifted child with extraordinary singing talent. But after the show’s season ended for that year, I would have no idea just how special she is until this summer (2011) when, for whatever reason, I felt like passing the time away by searching for videos of her on YouTube. I came across many videos of Jackie Evancho singing on various TV talk shows, performance halls, and also saw some videos of her singing on PBS Great Performances. One video in particular that caught my attention was of her singing “Nessun Dorma” by Puccini. I was mesmerized by how lovely she sang such a complex and challenging piece of music. Coming from an instrumental music background (Bachelor of Music in Education, 1985) I can truly appreciate the natural musicality that she shows at such a young age.  She is so expressive in her approach to the music. Her performance of this piece and many others has moved me to tears. I cannot explain why or how, but for whatever reason the vocals that she is capable of producing at such a young age is overwhelming – consuming the listener into a deep connection that penetrates the soul. In the time that followed my listening and viewing experiences, I could not help but become compelled to discover more videos of her. Each video that I found was special in its own way and had an emotional affect on me. You could tell that she would immerse herself in the music almost as if she was intimately connected with God. I said to myself, “God is singing to us through Jackie.” How amazing it is that such splendor could be shown to us through such a small child!

I don’t have words to express why I have been affected so much by this little girl. Maybe it is the combination of the charm of her age coupled with her uncanny ability to sing the genre of music that she performs. It may also be because there seems to be more to her than just a talented singer. From what I can tell she seems genuinely nice, kind, respectful, and caring.  As I continue to dig further into the life of Jackie, as seen through the Internet, I am truly amazed at how well she composes herself when she is in the spotlight. She has given many interviews where she is joyful and pleasant – all while staying true to herself as a kid. She comes across as being very well-rounded for an 11 year-old. That is quite a lot to believe for anyone who has not viewed her videos, but I can say that I have seen all of these things without ever having met her.  Of course, there are always differences in how a person can be perceived in the media vs. real-life, but I would hope that the things that I have read and watched are true indicators of her character.  I believe that they are!

There has been plenty of testimonial videos from very prominent people who have nothing but praise for Jackie.  The comments pour in over her videos almost daily.  She has truly touched many lives by simply showcasing the talents that God has given her.  I have spent a lot of time scanning through comments that people have written to her on YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter. She has impacted the lives of many people. Some have even claimed to have found a belief in God when once they had none, based solely on how they were astounded by her singing ability. Others have found inner peace within themselves even during troubling times.  How amazing that a child like this can have such a positive impact on people.

I believe that one of the reasons why Jackie is held together so well is that she has a very strong foundation in her family. I would like to express my compliments to her parents. I think that they have done a tremendous job with managing their family while being thrown into the entertainment limelight with Jackie’s recent fame. This has probably been quite a ride for them and I pray that they are able to keep up with the rigors of balancing home-life with the attention that has surrounded Jackie. I remember when my children were under 12. It is a fun and challenging time – some of the fondest years that I have had as a parent.  My advice is to cherish it as much as you can.

I think that Jackie Evancho has so much going for her as a singer and a person as long as she remains true to herself and isn’t corrupted by the entertainment industry to become something that doesn’t suit her.  I hope she continues to remain a classical-crossover singer or perhaps just a classical performer.  She seems to fit very well into that genre.

I can truly say that I am indeed a fan and would hope to be able to see her live in concert some day.  I listen to her “Dream With Me” CD on a regular basis and I cannot emphasize enough how much inner peace I feel when I am lulled by her angelic voice.  If I am having a stressful day, I start-up her music and just listen.  It doesn’t take long before I feel a peaceful calmness that envelopes me.

A lot of us can learn a few things about how to look at life through the eyes of this very gifted child. It is like witnessing a beautiful flower in bloom. I am so thankful to God for giving us such a great gift in Jackie Evancho. To me it shows another depth of love that God our Father has for us because of what has been revealed.  Bless Jackie and her family for sharing this precious gift with all of us!

“And he said to them: Whoever will receive this child in my name, receives me; and whoever receives me, receives him who sent me. For whoever is the lesser among you all, the same is greater.” – Luke 9:48

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Craig Rasmussen
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 15:16:55

    If i didn’t know better, I’d think I had written this myself. You express your thoughts, impressions and even hopes for Jackie excellently, and I second every one of them, right down to your closing scripture reference. The only difference is that I have been following Jackie steadily since last year’s AGT, and you are a relative newcommer. Thank you!

    Reply

    • varnk
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 13:40:22

      Thanks for the kind comments. I have actually liked her since she was on AGT in 2010, but the PBS performance and Dream With Me release really took it to another level for me. Now I am totally in awe! After seeing her again last night on AGT, she just takes my breath away!

      Reply

  2. Ian Lawton
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 17:40:47

    Very well said, and I also agree with everything you said. Jackie is the personification of beauty – vocally, physically, and spiritually. To know her is to love her. The world needs what she gives to people so pray for her well-being and that of her family, as I suspect you may already do. I like your blossoming flower analogy. As I say – she is like a Star flower (a real flower name by the way, and just seems apropos for Jackie) blossoming before our very eyes, and we are very fortunate to be living in this era to witness it. Her love-light shines brilliantly for the benefit of mankind. I like what you said here “God is singing to us through Jackie.” – beautifully said!

    Reply

    • varnk
      Sep 15, 2011 @ 13:44:31

      Thanks for replying! This was something that I wanted to do for quite awhile. I just couldn’t hold it in any longer. It is sort of my gift back to Jackie for the joy she has given me.

      Reply

  3. Ken Hoffman
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 12:49:33

    Your blog echoes my sentiments exactly. I hope Jackie or Lisa reads it. At 64, I have never heard anyone sing that has moved me so much. It’s been said by others but true. Listening to her makes me want to be a better person.
    I’m going to her Pittsburgh concert and very excited about it. I’ll buy every CD/DVD she ever produces.

    Reply

    • varnk
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 13:49:48

      I envy you for being able to go to the Pittsburgh concert. I am in Ohio and only 2 hours away, but can’t afford the tickets. I am sure that you will be beaming with joy when you see her perform!

      Reply

  4. Craig Rasmussen
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 13:57:39

    “Listening to her makes me want to be a better person.” Yup. It sounds cliche, but it’s true. In fact, I’ll take it a step further. Listening to her HAS MADE me a better person. God uses this little person in my life in ways that defy common sense, but are undeniable.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Inspirational Video – “To Believe” « Jack T. Scully
  6. Lynn
    Oct 20, 2012 @ 21:53:37

    Damn..that pretty lil, very poised girl sure can sing……she has her own style and lets hope the ‘entertainment industry’ doesn’t chew her up and spite her out..the girls’ got big talent _ hope she stays true to herself.

    Reply

    • varnk
      Oct 20, 2012 @ 22:36:56

      Lynn. I have been following Jackie as a fan for over a year now, and rest assured, she is in good hands. So far, her parents have been doing a wonderful job keeping her safeguarded and well-grounded.

      You might want to take a look at this recent interview with Jackie and her Father that may give you a good idea how well she is taken care of.

      Reply

      • Anonymous
        Jul 27, 2013 @ 02:58:11

        Hello Everyone :

        My Name is Dana Miller

        I have been following Jackie Since she was 10 years old and and she was on A.G.T. I am one of Jackie’s Biggest Fans. Why do I admire Jackie?

        I admire her because she is so down to earth humble sweet and her voice is stunning.

  7. Dana Miller
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 03:44:30

    Hello Everyone.
    I admire Jackie Evancho because she is extremely humble.Her Parents have done an incredible job The interview was stunning. She has been blessed in so many ways She is an incredible young woman.

    Reply

  8. Maryl Ben
    Dec 31, 2013 @ 15:28:35

    God has given us the beauty of a rose to enjoy. In the same way God has given us a beautiful young singer to love and enjoy who I call “Our princess.” God not only made the rose He also made the soul of the singer we all experience and love. Both of them have the innermost beauty coming from God. I thank God for both the singer and the rose. Our love for our princess is repaid by her love for us. Our love is endless for her and her love is endless for us. May God love her forever.

    Reply

  9. vanspareja
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 22:21:54

    I am a believer of God in everyone and last week I found a video shared on Facebook describing a little girl who is a living proof of this. I haven’t heard of Jackie Evancho before and in that video she was singing “Imaginer” with Conrad Tao on the piano. What can I say, I marveled at this little girl’s voice. I have no doubt that I was listening to God singing in her. Then I watched a couple of her videos and I just knew that aside from her voice there is something in her that makes her really special. There are only few people in this world who aren’t self-conscious and Jackie is one of those people. She is also wise beyond her age and has a different way of seeing life. I am an admirer of Jackie Evancho as well. Thank you for maintaining this blog. 🙂

    Reply

    • varnk
      Jun 23, 2014 @ 20:46:02

      Thank you for the kind comment! Welcome to the world of Jackie Evancho admirers. I can tell you that the more you look into Jackie’s career, the more you will be amazed at how much she has been blessed and how much she brings blessings to others.

      Reply

  10. B.A. Pletz
    Apr 27, 2018 @ 19:15:11

    I met you at the Cleveland concert, and I was wondering whether the group is planning a
    pre-concert meet-up @ CityLites (or another nearby restaurant) in Dayton on 4/28/18? I can be contacted @ bpletz@cscc.edu.

    Reply

    • VarnK
      Apr 27, 2018 @ 19:38:59

      For the first time, I have been unaware of any organized fan get-togethers for the Dayton concert. Ever since Jackie’s Proboards forum was shut down I have lost touch with fan gathering plans. If you hear anything about one, let me know.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Follow me @JEAdmirer on Twitter

Recent Blog Comments

Anonymous on About
Anonymous on About
VarnK on About
RAMON TUCKER on About
Leo Wheeler on 2014 – A Year in Re…