Dedicated Jackie Evancho Fan

There is a point where the personal realization of being associated with a particular label or group is evident.  In the case of this blog, it is an association with being a dedicated Jackie Evancho Fan.  For me, this increasingly occurred over a gradual progression of time ever since I saw Jackie perform on America’s Got Talent in 2010.  It wasn’t long before I reached a point where I realized that I am indeed a fan, not just the every day run of the mill fan, but a truly dedicated fan that wants to be part of something great – following the music and career of Jackie Evancho.  It has been over a year now since that realization occurred, and I can say that I have been greatly enriched because of it.

Never before in my 49 years have I ever considered myself a dedicated fan for anyone like I have been for Jackie.  What was the turning point that brought me to where I am now?  Hard to say for sure, but the number of elements that have pushed me to this level have piled up over the last 12 months.  I have given this some thought and have tried to come up with reasons why I have developed such a strong dedication to being a fan of Jackie.  Here is my attempt at putting together a list of some of the tangible elements that have contributed to my dedication:

  • The kindhearted nature that Jackie continually shows towards everyone around her.
  • Jackie’s joyful good-nature.
  • The songs that Jackie sings and the way she sings them is very emotionally meaningful.
  • Jackie’s profession of her faith in God and the thankful heart that she has for her gift coming from God.
  • Myself being a Catholic, I am drawn in to Jackie’s commitment to her own Catholic faith.
  • I am very moved that Jackie sings some songs that are connected to her faith.
  • The short video clip of Jackie praying before her concert in Japan is very endearing to me.
  • The positive energy that seems to emanate from Jackie is truly contagious and it shows from the good-natured fans that follow her.
  • The fans that are drawn in to Jackie and the commonalities that I have with many of them regarding Jackie have been very gratifying. Many fans have helped me to come to an understand of my own thoughts and feelings towards being such a committed fan.
  • The structure of Jackie’s family is very similar to my own. I may not have a child superstar in the midst of my own children, but I cherish the family that I have. Seeing video clips and pictures of Jackie’s family helps to reinforce my own family values.
  • The caring nature that Jackie shows towards animals and all living creatures both big and small.
  • Jackie seems very humble and shows a wonderful sense of humility.
  • I really admire the way Mike and Lisa Evancho (Jackie’s parents) have kept their family grounded with all of the probable pressures that surround them to change their ways regarding Jackie’s career. They have remained steadfast and true to their ideals regarding Jackie.
  • The willingness of Mike and Lisa Evancho to participate in on-line forums and discussions with fans as a community of people who care for Jackie and one another.  The society of people whom have formed around Jackie’s career is very special.
  • Attending a live performance and seeing the incredible stage presence that Jackie exhibits, in addition to the caring interaction she has with her audience.
  • Seeing the joy that Jackie experiences when performing.  She truly loves singing for people and it really shows.

As you can see from the list above, there is so much that I have discovered about Jackie that has solidified my position as being the committed fan that I have become. The list continually grows and I am sure I will be able to easily add to it.

Around this time last year I discovered the YouTube video that really energized my interest in Jackie, and that was the PBS Great Performances clip of “Nessun Dorma”. Yes… I did see Jackie perform on AGT in 2010, and I thought she was fantastic, but that was not the main spark that got me into the dedicated fan arena. When I heard Jackie sing “Nessun Dorma” five months later on YouTube, it was like a spiritual light switch went on inside of me as tears were running down my cheeks. After that, I started the Internet quest to discover more music and information about Jackie. The more I found, the more I came to admire her.  Every song she sings is filled with sincere emotion and it touches your heart with joy.  There are many others out there who are just like me.  There is something good going on with Jackie Evancho and I hope others who are unfamiliar with her will do their own research to discover all the wonderful things that I and all of her existing fans have come to know and love.


Jackie will be releasing a new CD this fall.  She will also be featured on a new PBS Great Performances special titled “Music of the Movies” that is due to air sometime in August.  Consult your local PBS broadcast affiliate for exact dates and times.

37 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chuck Brown
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 03:56:31

    Ken,

    I just went through you blog on a “Dedicated Jackie Evancho Fan” and wanted to let you know that I found it quite moving. As you have correctly stated, your reasons for for becoming and continuing to be a dedicated fan are, for the most part, echoed by the majority of the fan base (including myself).

    In essence, we are all on a magic carpet ride- hanging on to Jackie’s coat-tails as she realizes her dream.

    Chuck

    Reply

    • varnk
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 12:55:00

      Thanks Chuck! It is fans like you that make the journey even more fulfilling. It is amazing the friendships and bonds between fans that have formed around Jackie. She brings out the best in all of us.

      Reply

  2. Wendy Manson-Myers
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 08:21:55

    Thank you for sharing this with me! She had me captivated the first time I saw here on AGT. And I have never really gotten into Opera. I am a classical musician and pretty much just stay on the instrumental line. But, she caught me!

    Reply

    • varnk
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 12:51:45

      Thanks for the comment Wendy. I was not into opera very much either, but Jackie gave me a new appreciation for the music that she sings. Her musicality at such a young age is incredible. We are all witnessing something great!

      Reply

  3. Anwaar
    Jul 11, 2012 @ 15:13:02

    Ken
    You echo many of the reasons that compel and entice us all to follow Jackie’s career. She is truly a phenomenon and a once in a lifetime prodigy. Your blog was a great read and a reminder that we are fortunate to have a prodigy whose life and career is a fascinating journey that all can be a part of.

    Reply

    • varnk
      Jul 11, 2012 @ 21:12:00

      Thanks Anwaar! You are so right! We are living in great times to witness the wonderful journey that Jackie is taking us along for the ride.

      Reply

  4. Andrew
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 01:38:57

    I love how Jackie is drawing fans to classical music, especially opera. It took a dying relative 20+ years ago, asking me to sit with him and read the English libretto translation as he sang an aria from La Boheme to a vinyl recording with Pavarotti that got me hooked. Two sopranos today are responsible for reviving opera: Anna Netrebko and Jackie Evancho. Both are gifts. Both equally talented. But only one of them is a wunderkind at just 12 years old.

    Reply

  5. Bob Sabatino
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 14:21:50

    I am a 75 year old man who has never been what you would call a great fan of any singer, just enjoyed good music. But that all changed the first time I saw Jackie on AGT. I have followed her career ever since and can’t get enough of her singing. As many people have stated, she has the personality we all admire, and a voice that can’t be matched, period! I am truly a Jackie Evancho addict.

    Reply

    • Jack H.
      Jul 23, 2012 @ 18:56:22

      Bob, except that I have five years on you, your words exactly reflect my situation. I too am completely addicted to Jackie Evancho. I’m so thankful to be around to witness this historical moment in time.

      Reply

  6. Ed Hubert
    Jul 27, 2012 @ 14:57:00

    I am 78. Like Bob Sabatino, I love good music. But I have never been a fan of anyone until now. I am a Christian and prefer the traditional hymns. To me, Jackie is a wonderful little Christian girl who recognizes that she has a gift from God. She prays before performing. She gives God the glory for her music. Never have I heard her take credit for it herself. She is strong in her faith and is not ashamed of it. Publicly, she wears her dad’s purity ring. On stage, she always dresses and presents herself modestly and appropriately. Much of that is due to her loving parents Mike and Lisa. Yes, I am truly a fan of hers. I have followed Jackie and have read just about everything that has been written about her. But only the positives–the negatives are not worth reading. Like Jackie, I too hope they stop the slaughter of baby harp seals. Go Jackie–the sky’s the limit!! God bless you!!

    Reply

  7. bestofjackieontheweb
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 13:52:17

    Good morning, Ken. Regarding your website, what a great gift to Jackie from one of her most dedicated fans. I wish I had your eye for design! This is a fine looking site, well worthy of our hero. Cheers, J

    Reply

    • varnk
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 14:39:56

      Thanks so much! Your site is very impressive with the collection of some of the best information about Jackie that you have brought together.

      Reply

    • Ed Hubert
      Aug 07, 2012 @ 14:46:54

      And now I read that Jackie is into clothes-modeling and is the face of Guess clothing for fall 2012. Plus all of her other asccomplishments so far. She has a WONDERFUL voice and has done great for a 12-year old girl. She is doing 26 concerts or performances for 2012. No telling what will be next after her movie comes out next year–she may just steal the show in the film, like on AGT in 2010.

      Reply

      • varnk
        Aug 07, 2012 @ 15:01:11

        Actually Ed, she has 30 concerts scheduled for this year (that I know of), but who’s counting? Let’s just say she is one busy girl. Her parents do a marvelous job of balancing home life with her concert performances.

        Jackie certainly is blessed with many talents indeed! She seems to be a natural at modeling, singing, acting, speaking in public, and just being a great kid!

      • Ed Hubert
        Aug 07, 2012 @ 15:55:15

        Maybe she will become senator from PA or even our president in 40 years from now, LOL!!

  8. Wendy Manson-Myers
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 09:06:36

    Yeah Ed, maybe! Don’t laugh to hard. She could if she wanted to!

    Reply

    • Ed Hubert
      Aug 09, 2012 @ 12:57:25

      Funny, I never got so excited about someone in the music business before. But I see a kind-hearted, sweet, charming, humble, well-mannered little 12 yr. girl with a special gift from God and the voice of an angel. She is a crossover singer but she has an operative soprano voice of a mature, experienced 30-yr. old professional female singer. I know she will do well. She prays berfore singing and gives God the glory for it all. She has a lot of good connections in the music world. Plus, her parents are keeping her on track, well balanced, yet allowing her to be the 12-yr-old kid that she is. Publicly, she seems poised, and fully enjoys what she does. Already she has 9 concerts in 2013. Go Jackie Go!!

      Reply

      • Wendy Manson-Myers
        Aug 10, 2012 @ 07:54:48

        Yes Ed, she is very inspiring and mature. She shock me the first time I heard her. She is very amazing! What you said is very true. Thank you for joining us!

      • Ed Hubert
        Aug 10, 2012 @ 13:41:08

        I honestly hope that Jackie maintains her love of singing. As sheagrows older, I hope that she does not become discouraged because of negative comments, obnoxious people, “jerky” boyfriends, etc. Right now the BF’s are not there yet, Mike and Lisa keep her shielded from the negatives and the crowds. Her dad and her BM manage her, allowing her to do enough performing to enjoy it, but not too much so as to miss being a child.. I’m sure her dad also manages the money, so that is not an issue with her now. She is smart in math and knows she is making money but not the amounts–Mike probably does not tell her the details. Good show and I hope it contiues that way for her.

      • Wendy Manson-Myers
        Aug 11, 2012 @ 09:26:59

        Of course. I feel that she has enough confidence and her family will keep her grounded. But, maybe her family should think ahead on intimidating conversations to give any future BF’s!

      • varnk
        Aug 12, 2012 @ 19:57:00

        Wendy. As a father myself, one of our main Dad requirements is being intimidating to BFs who want to date our daughters. LOL!

      • Ed Hubert
        Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:44:30

        As parents, I am sure that Mike and Lisa have already educated her to a large degree on BF’s. From what I read, they seem to be “on the ball” with her. I like it that they want her to just be a kid and have as normal a childhood as she can. I also like that they take ask her what SHE wants to do as far as events go and are very supportive of her performing.

      • Wendy Manson-Myers
        Aug 14, 2012 @ 00:32:33

        Ed & Varnk. I trust all concerned. But, just in case, those intimidating questions should be practiced. You just never know.

      • Anonymous
        Aug 15, 2012 @ 14:30:15

        What I get concerned about is drugs (so many young entertainers) or alcohol (like Lindsay Lohan). But I know that Lisa travels with Jackie and is on top of this. Lisa keeps a watchful eye out for such things. I am sure that both Mike and Lisa have educated Jackie on these important subjects. They seem to be doing a really good job with her. Also I am glad they are building breaks (Sep and Oct) into her schedule so she is not on the road constantly and has time for school and friends and being a 12-yr old!!

      • Anonymous
        Aug 22, 2012 @ 12:49:44

        Question: Anyone know if Jackie has sung anything in French or Russian? She was in Riussia in June, were any of her songs in Russian?

      • varnk
        Aug 22, 2012 @ 17:00:59

        Jackie has sung in Italian, French, and English (of course). I do not think she has sung anything in the Russian language. She did just record a song in Japanese as an exclusive for her recent trip to Japan.

      • varnk
        Aug 10, 2012 @ 20:55:12

        Ed. Many fans (including myself) offer up our prayers for Jackie quite frequently. We trust that God will be with her just as she asks Him each time she goes out to perform.

        I believe that Jackie is singing because it gives her great joy. The joy she receives in singing is the joy we receive in hearing and watching her perform. I think that as long as Jackie is happy, she will continue singing. Her parents seem to very adamantly support whatever she feels comfortable doing.

  9. Ed Hubert
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 12:52:09

    Anybody know if Jackie has sung antything in French or Russian? I know she was in Russia in June 2012.

    Reply

  10. Anwaar
    Aug 22, 2012 @ 13:39:21

    Ed,
    Imaginer on DWMIC is in French. Jackie sang this in St Petersburgh also. Nothing in Russian yet.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: I See The Light | Cindy's Music Studio Blog
  12. Ron Bowman
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 16:06:43

    I am another Fanatic for Jackie Evancho. You know how you remember where you were and what you were doing during major events like presidential assassinations or 911? Well I remember my introduction to JE like that. I was in the kitchen, (don’t remember why), when I heard this amazing voice coming from the den where my wife was watching TV. I walked into the den, looked at the TV and dropped onto the edge of my recliner. As the Brits would, I was God Smacked. It was the first PBS special. She was perfect. Every note, every gesture, every expression, every word from her mouth was perfect. I have been a super fan from that day till this.

    Reply

  13. JayWix
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 22:15:58

    I stumbled upon Jackie and her music about a month ago when PBS in NOVA was fund raising and mentioned Jackies Great Performance. I have heard of her as a kid who can sing since my home is Pittsburgh on the weekends. First time i heard her sing on Utube, was a very powerful and moving experience. I cant believe i missed out on 2 years of her music. Watching her interviews i came away impressed with her kindness, humility and unabashed faith. Kudos to her parents for sharing the precious gift. I cannot wait till March 12 and take my wife and daughter to be enchanted by Jackies music accompanied by PSO.

    Reply

    • varnk
      Dec 19, 2012 @ 00:05:44

      Better late than never. Now you are on the same ride that many of us have been on. It just gets better and better.

      I’ll be at Jackie’s concert at Pittsburgh again this March too. See you there!

      Reply

  14. JayWix
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 20:31:23

    Thanks Varnk for maintaining this blog and allowing us to post our thoughts. On Mar 12 She is singing for the hometown crowd. Its going to rock the house !! See you there.
    Classical crossover is just so new to me. My choice of music are jazz soul samba and lush movie music. But when Jackie sings i’m just gonna have to crossover because her music is beauty personified. Wonderful serendipitous discovery at least to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow me @JEAdmirer on Twitter

Recent Blog Comments

Jim Good on About
VarnK on About
Jim Good on About
VarnK on About
Jim Good on About
